A quick ride report: Palm Tree Ride 2023

Another year, another Palm Tree Ride! I’ve been doing it almost every year since 2005, skipping 2016 and 2017 when I was burnt out, and 2021 for obvious reasons. It’s a ride that I still enjoy doing and have fun, especially when the weather is good. This year was no slouch in the weather department, a bit of sun and clouds with no rain and a high around 48F/9C.

Twenty-five people registered and twenty showed up, which was expected. We met in Ladd’s Circle, a common starting point for the ride since the first one. In fact, this ride was a “greatest hits” route, hitting up many of the spots from the first ride. It was fun seeing how things have changed–a few palms are gone, and some of the ones that were babies eighteen years ago are now nice and tall. You can get a visual report of the first ride from this report from Steev Hise.

Del Rey Apartments, 2555 NE Glisan St, in 2005 (Photo: Steev Hise)
And the Del Rey today. Photo: Julian Dunn. My, how the palm has grown!

Anyways, after 7 1/2 miles, we wrapped up the ride at NE 11th north of Knott, a veritable verdant kingdom courtesy of Sean Hogan of Cistus Nursery. Eight of us rode the mile north to The Bye and Bye for after-ride food and libations.

The full route can be seen here. Below is an Instagram report from Julian Dunn:

UPDATE 1 February 2023: Stasia at Carfree Rambles mentioned the ride in her latest blog post.

UPDATE 1 February 2023: The few photos I managed to take are in the flickr dynamic album below. Or click here.

The Classic: SE 22nd and Stephens, 25 Jan 2023
Like my stuff? Go to my Ko-fi page to buy me a coffee!

2 thoughts on “A quick ride report: Palm Tree Ride 2023

Add yours

I love to hear from you! Please note that all comments are manually moderated. I usually approve comments within 48 hours.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑