On the ends and potential beginnings of blogging eras

Baltimore Woods, 30 March 2024. Olympus OM-1n, OM Zuiko 35-70mm f/3.5-4.5, Kodak Pro Image 100

It’s a topic I’ve brought up before: There was once a great number of bicycle blogs that concentrated on everyday, urban cycling. When I really got into blogging at the end of 2010 (this blog had been launched five years before, but up until then I posted sporadically and haphazardly), I was motivated by this movement. It was fun time, I got to meet a lot of interesting folks, some whom became friends. But it became quickly apparent that the wave had already crested, and within a few years the number of blogs that posted regularly dwindled. By about 2015 there was only a hardy handful left, many of which posted sporadically and haphazardly.

Yet I still kept plugging away, despite the audience seeming to disappear, as this blog became a journal of my life, something I could look back on. I say “seeming to disappear” because my stats still look pretty good, and I get several “SEO service” spam emails a week. But people don’t engage with my blog in the way they used to–it used to be all comments, but now it’s mostly “likes”.

Not all is doom and gloom. I mentioned a few months back that Lorenza of Naturally Cycling Manchester came back after a ten-year absence. And Lorenza is not alone. Ailbíona McLochlainn/Albina, the voice behind Lovely Bicycle, one of the top blogs of that everyday bicycle blog moment, announced her return on her new blog. She talks about the fading of the particular movement I mentioned above:

I can remember the exact moment I realised that blogging, in the form we had come to know it, was about to become extinct.

At the time, I was the author of a rather eclectic bicycle-themed blog. Cycling was having a ‘moment,’ and there were many blogs of this genre in circulation. Chic Cyclist preceded mine by about a year…I looked forward to reading Chic Cyclist as one of my favorite pastimes – following with interest for years, then feeling an undercurrent of sadness as I sensed her enthusiasm wane after some time. Life had moved on for the author, with a new child and a move abroad. Posts became less frequent, more brief.

But despite having sensed this trajectory, the final entry still came as a blow. Not only because it was the end of Chic Cyclist (the post did not say so, but somehow I knew), but because it heralded, I felt, a more pervasive change in the blogosphere…

It was 2012, and there were signs of what was coming if one knew where to look. The rising popularity of instagram due to its sheer ease of use compared to the clunky blogging platforms, was one red flag I suppose. But the bigger indicator, looking back, was the increasingly frequent audience requests for blog authors to start audio podcasts and YouTube channels, as those platforms began to gain in traction.

What the audience really wanted, was not just content to read, to be informed and inspired by. They wanted more of the author as a person. And the audio-visual platforms were designed for this very purpose.

She had many of the same feelings I had, like blogs that petered out because a project was done or the author lost interest and inspiration and felt they had nothing more to say. But she also had some observations I didn’t think too much about. Sure, I did notice how Instagram became “the thing” about that time, how many of the blogs I followed abdicated for a branch of the Metaverse. I wasn’t too thrilled about it, because Instagram is even more about the likes than WordPress. But I could see why some people moved over so eagerly: it’s easier, and if your blog was more a collection of photos with some words strung together, well, Instagram just makes more sense. And there were definitely a good number of “low effort” blogs that people did to get themselves out there when blogging was a big deal, so when the big deal moved to Instagram, there was no love lost.

And I can see Albina’s/Ailbíona’s1 hesitation to give more of herself to the world. When she started the blog, she carefully cropped out her head in any photos. She soon stopped doing that but did hide behind a degree of anonymity. Sure, if you were in the Boston bike blog scene 2 or once were supposed to draw something for her 3 you would know her real identity. There was a good degree of anonymous to semi-anonymous bike blogging in that era, where the blogger would hide behind a nom de plume.4 Of course, the air of mystery only increased people’s interest in her. But Ailbíona only revealed her real identity publicly a few years ago. So you can see why she’d not be down for YouTube.

My misgivings about YouTube have less to do about how much you give yourself to the platform if you create a channel, but because of what it’s taken away from blogging. For example, I used to like reading Path Less Pedaled’s posts. The blog hasn’t been updated in almost two years, and pretty much any post from the past five or so years is simply a repost of a YouTube video. Russ has pivoted to video because that’s where “engagement” is. If you are trying to make something of a living off this stuff, that’s where you have to be. And that leads to the constant churning out of “content” to stay “relevant” and get sponsors, Patrons, and products to review, plus the inevitable “hot takes” and clickbait to get engagement. I’m not knocking what Russ (and Laura!) are doing, as it’s nice to have an influencer who’s in their 40s and a person of color who approaches things from the alt-cycling vs. racing world. But I don’t like how YouTube demands so much of your attention. I don’t want to watch a ten-minute video every week, but I’ll read blog posts several times a week. The same goes for podcasts, which I rarely listen to. My rule of thumb with podcasts is that a 90 minute podcast should be 60, and a 60 minute one 30.

And I also find it a bit ironic that Ailbíona talks negatively about influencers. I get the ambivalence, but back in the day, we all considered her an influencer in the blogging world. She would get sent a lot of products to review, had sponsors, and even collaborated with some bike brands, something that irked a certain demographic of white, male, middle-aged cyclists: Why is she getting the opportunity to work with X brand when she’s only been biking for a few years? Well, it’s because she offered a different perspective on things than the status quo, and that’s why brands were eager to get her input. Now, I don’t think she aimed to be an “influencer”. She was honest in her opinions of products and would give critiques when she felt it was warranted. But that was the blogging world, where nuance can exist. Now we have influencers who will flaunt any product or brand who will give them stuff (and sometimes the ones that don’t.)

But the most curious thing about all this doom and gloom about blogging is that it mostly applies to the bicycle blogging world. I’ve gotten heavily into film cameras and fountain pens over the past five years. While there’s plenty of YouTubers and Instagrammers in those two realms, blogging remains healthy. I get several posts a day in my feed about old film cameras and new fountain pens. And ironically Ailbíona is part of that film photography blog world too: She’s contributed several posts to the great site 35mmc (as do I.) I have vague ideas why bike blogging withered (like the slow decline of practical bikes) but no conclusive answers. I hope that we can somehow propagate the energy from other blogging communities back into bike blogs. I’ll keep on doing my thing from my corner of the world, and look forward to Ailbíona and others returning.

And this may be a bit selfish, but: If you would like the bike blogs that we have to stick around and more blogs come about, engage with them. Likes are not enough, comments mean a lot more. Otherwise, you run the risk of losing even more bloggers to platforms where engagement is easier.

Like my stuff? Go to my Ko-fi page to buy me a coffee!
  1. Pronounced “Al-BEE-nah”, not like how we’d pronounce it here in Portland. ↩︎
  2. There was a great number of Boston bike bloggers then. I’m guessing it’s because of the abundance of academia in Beantown, not because of good bike facilities (which there wasn’t.) Perhaps that’s the trick: shittier bike infrastructure leads to better bike blogging, whereas here in Portland with its good (by North America in 2010 standards) we just rode around naked instead. ↩︎
  3. As I was supposed to around the year 2012, when I got a phone call from her and learned her real name. ↩︎
  4. It could get a little annoying at times, especially when the anonymous bloggers assigned a fake name to their partner. The most cloying one to me was “The Cellist”. ↩︎

10 thoughts on “On the ends and potential beginnings of blogging eras

Add yours

  1. Yeah you and I both have noted this phenomenon. It’s a bummer! My return to blogging was motivated by the fact that so-called ‘alt cycling’ had removed itself from urban cycling and become enamored of performance norms, even while decrying said norms. For myself, blogging was the form it had to take, because I am not nearly as good a photographer as y’all- but I can use words. My hope is that I bring something unique in the scene as I try to understand things in an ‘objective’ way that goes beyond mere preference. Preference will obviously still play a part, but I want to have serious discussions about the cycling world.

    That said, I’ve also tried to fold personal reflection into the posts. Both to add interest, and to gesture toward the fact that my perspectives come from experience as a particular kind of rider. I’m excited by Ailbiona’s return to blogging! I guess we’ll have to trick a few more middle-aged cyclists into blogging again haha

    1. Yeah, while “alt-cyclists” definitely urban bike, the angle is different. And yeah, I hear you on the “it’s performance but we’re going to pretend not”. One alt cyclists I follow recently posted something on IG to the effect of “There is no helpful clutter”. I don’t even understand what that is supposed to mean, other than an opportunity to look down on transportation cyclists who “carry too much stuff”, stuff they might need for their day to day life. And an alt-cyclist’s bike, with all the pouches and stuff, would still be cluttered to a road cyclists. Just let folks be.

      Thanks for doing what you do. We need more personal reflection blogs (and even IG) instead of a worship of performance and influencers hawking product.

  2. Agree entirely – I feel that most people who would blog before now use YouTube (vlogging indeed). Whilst I do enjoy the visuals of vlogs, I’m not patient enough when riding and don’t feel the need to invest time in storytelling all high and low moments on camera. I prefer writing about my various randonnages, races and ultra rides because it lets me relive it and I can support it with nice pictures (and I can focus on the riding). With my blog I’m also independent from any provider (WordPress as a host notwithstanding), so I design my website and posts the way I want and don’t have to engage in snappy post production. Not everyone will want to read my posts, but to be fair it’s more an exercise for myself with all guests welcome to read. I don’t know if blogging will become trendy again, but it’s a nice and friendly little community without the commercial edge.

    1. Yeah, making a decent video takes a lot more time than writing a blog post. There’s too many YouTubes of people in a room droning, or unedited GoPro reels of their rides.

  3. And here I was thinking I was some kind of dinosaur because would rather read a blog (or any kind of text) and look at a few pictures (or a brief video) than to sit through a YouTube presentation.

    The problem with YT, I think, is that most people making the videos have no idea of what makes a video informative, interesting or even entertaining. And I’m not talking only about bike-related YouTube videos. 

  4. I’ve ported over from the fountain pen world (not much of a bicyclist myself), but I’ve found your blog lovely. I’m also one of those who vastly prefers reading to watching videos or listening to podcasts. It’s been a bummer to watch personal blogs decline, or become so crowded with popup/autoplay ads that they’re nearly unreadable (cooking blogs are especially bad), while companies all seem to have “blogs” that are little more than product shills or invitations to additional, paywall content. Someday, I hope I’ll manage to be more than sporadic on my own blog. In the meantime I’ll keep tabs on the good ones like yours.

  5. Found your blog because of your review on the Minolta XD5, one of few actually dedicated to the XD7/11s little brother and not just a side note. I am a big reader personally, I don’t want to watch a video about a camera, I’d much rather just read about it. I love reading photography blogs and because of this post will probably start actually commenting on them. Thanks

I love to hear from you! Please note that all comments are manually moderated. I usually approve comments within 48 hours.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑