You may not value what I do, but I value what I do

Master of this home. Montavilla, 9 Feb 2024. Olympus XA2/Harman Phoenix 200

Recently while digging through my email, I came across an exchange I had ten or so years ago with somebody at Portland’s Bureau of Transportation. They were putting together a walk and wanted to know if I had a map of palm trees. This type of question comes up from time to time, and the unfortunate answer is that I’ve been bad at creating a database or map of these things, so it doesn’t exist. They then wanted me to do a ride with them to tour some of the palms.

This rubbed me the wrong way.

I’ve been generous with my time and my knowledge. Over almost twenty years I’ve led bike rides and walks around Portland highlighting the things that I’ve discovered, things that took some time and work to find out. And over those twenty years, I had not charged a cent for this privilege.1 Now someone wanted me to give them this knowledge for free, knowledge they would use to put together an event for their work. Not only that, they’d be on the clock when I did this personal private tour, and what exactly would I get out of it? If I was lucky, a cup of coffee. I told them I was willing and available to lead a palm tree walk or ride for the city as a contractor, and I wasn’t giving away my information gratis for someone who was getting paid to do so. They of course balked, and I never heard from them again.2

As an artist, this scenario is commonplace. There’s this line of thinking where making art can’t really be work, (“You’d just draw anyways!”), so therefore artists shouldn’t be fairly compensated for it. In my younger years, I definitely gave away more than I should have, with vague promises of “exposure” and “experience” as compensation. As I’ve grown older I want to be fairly compensated for what I do. Yet I have to constantly be vigilant.

For example, I recently posted some old art I did for a now-closed bike shop on my Instagram. I figured it would be good to share these drawings that haven’t been seen for a decade. Immediately I was asked by someone if they could download this art for “coloring pages”. I said no, mostly because this is commissioned art. But I’m over giving away things for free, even if the art is from a long time ago. Now I’m guessing that the person who asked isn’t being malicious in their query, especially since they are one of those “earnest bike types”. And I’m also sure that some people (maybe you!) are thinking I’m overreacting and should just be flattered that someone likes my art. But flattery does not pay the bills. And if I don’t act like what I do has value, then no one else will.

I know that in this day and age images and the like are easily shared without people’s permission. Most of the time it’s innocent, but it can be malicious, like a particular ne’er do well who was making bootleg Society of Three Speeds merch. At least that was easily dealt with–a DCMA notice to the particular service got it removed.

But what about those supposedly “well-meaning” folks who want to use your art “for a good cause” and give you nothing for the honor? This happened last year when someone from the UK informed me that they oh-so-classily lifted art from another ten-year-old commissioned piece that they put on a poster to sell “for charity”. Would I be okay with this? I told them flat out: no. They seemed a bit taken aback since the proceeds go to a “good cause”. I told them that I didn’t know who they were, so I could not trust them or their actions, especially since they acted first and asked permission after the fact. I figured that should settle things, but a month later they asked if I had a change of mind. Really?

One piece of art has had a long history of attention. Twenty years ago I drew the top of Rocky Butte for one of my zines and shared the image on my Sito site. In 2005 the Madison South Neighborhood Association (the district where the butte is located) asked to use this art to put on yard signs opposing the construction of a Walmart at NE 82nd and Siskyou.3 Now this was a cause I was behind, but they were basically asking me to create their neighborhood’s branding for free. I sat on it for a bit but didn’t get back to them. I should have asked for some cash (especially since this was around the time I was at my absolute brokest) but wasn’t that assertive then. I’m definitely more now when a year ago someone asked to use this same image as the cover of their local history zine. I negotiated a fee for the art but never heard back from him.

Just to be clear, I’m not totally against the idea of giving art away. I have done it in the past, and will do so in the future. But it’s got to be for someone I know or a cause I believe in. And I’m glad that you like what I do! But please, don’t ask to use my art unless you plan on compensating me in some way. It doesn’t have to be a lot of money, but it should be in some currency that I find useful. (Cameras? Fountain pens? Sure. Copies of a book about camping in an area I rarely camp? Probably not.) I value what I do, and want you to value it too.

Like my stuff? Go to my Ko-fi page to buy me a coffee!

  1. There may be incidental charges, like campsite fees for camping rides. And over the last few years I have charged for Bike Touring Workshops. ↩︎
  2. Just to be clear, it wasn’t Timo. ↩︎
  3. Thankfully the Walmart did not get built. Instead it’s now the site of the Dharma Rain Zen Center, a place I love to ride through. ↩︎

8 thoughts on “You may not value what I do, but I value what I do

Add yours

  1. Over the years I have given drawings for charity auctions for causes I believe in. I also sell my drawings and do know they have value, so when people ask for a free one, I politely tell them the going price for a drawing and usually they sheepishly walk away. The only time I will give a drawing away is when I have a life drawing session, I allow the model to pick one as a thank you for posing even though they are bring paid for posing, I feel it’s a nice gesture/bonus.

  2. i dont comment too much but felt compelled this time. I am 100 percent behind you and your fair request for compensation. Art is created and takes time. It is what makes each piece unique and rare.

  3. I’ve played music all my life. Many years ago I realized that donating music to events did not bring happiness. Folks would take you for granted and even bad mouth you because, well, you are free and how good could a “free” musician be. After realizing this sad fact of life I started charging for any gig I played. The results are much better. As soon as people are paying for your services it seems to elevate the performance to acceptable or good or some other positive observation even though you may be playing the same music I played previously for free with less enthusiastic observations of the music. I will donate music performance to charities knowing that I am benefiting from the charities activities. I have bought your bicycle oriented artwork in the past and proudly display them in my bicycle work/storage area.

  4. Random thought: you may not remember this, but I learned from you about not giving away art for free:) There was some sort of poster competition for something, and I think I forwarded it to you thinking that you’d be interested, and you were like, uh, no, I don’t do art for free (i.e. to submit to a contest hoping that you’d win and then whoever it is would use your art in return for you “winning.”) So, I learned this from you many many years ago and was kind of embarrassed that I hadn’t thought about it, but also grateful for the lesson:)

I love to hear from you! Please note that all comments are manually moderated. I usually approve comments within 48 hours.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑