A taste of summer

After what seemed like the longest winter ever (or at least since as long as I’ve lived in Portland)* we’re finally getting a taste of nice weather. And in this case, summerlike weather, with the warmest weather of 2017 (so far).

Wednesday May 3 was sunny and warm, with a high of 82F/28C. After work I grabbed a burrito and high-tailed it over to Rivendell Ridge, aka “Dog Bowl” for some Burrito Outside action. Normally by this point of the year, I’ve done several burrito outsides/Sunset Burrito Clubs. This year, it’s just the second one!

On Wednesday May 4, it got even hotter, 85F/29C. It was a bit more humid, too. It’s rare that it’s warm and humid here, and that little bit of stickiness (and it was just a little bit) reminds me of summer on the East Coast. Because of the added humidity, there were scattered thunderstorms in the area throughout the afternoon, though none hit me.** (Though later that night, I got to watch quite the lightning show from a distant cell.)

I got a little more adventurous and headed east for pizza. I was in the north side of Montavilla, so I decided to hit up one of my favorite obscure natural areas, Rosemont Bluff. There was barely anyone around, the grass was high and the wildflowers blooming. Just perfect. Well, except running against prickly plants with bare legs, but that’s what summer is about, eh?

I further rambl’d through NE on the way home, hitting up the rough trail that hugs the north side of Rose City Golf Course (and sits beneath the Alameda Ridge.) I also meandered through Cully, finding yet another secret foot path that connected two unimproved streets. I love finding these secret nooks and crannies in my city!

The weather got damp and cool on Friday, but then got nice again starting Saturday. Relief.

And I can’t wait for more nice weather…

*And it’s true: We have actually had the wettest and coolest winter in about 30 years.

**Thunderstorms are pretty uncommon here, since the conditions are just not right. There is more of a risk east of the Cascades, and there are some “dry” (as in no rain) thunderstorms in the mountains during the summer. In fact, lightning strikes from these dry thunderstorms are the leading cause of summer forest fires.

