Chehalem Range Ramble! Sunday February 26!

2014-11-22 14.32.03Yes, I am finally getting around to rescheduling the Chehalem Range Ramble! Woot! With my new schedule of Sundays and Mondays off, it’s a lot easier to schedule this stuff. And my bike should be fine this time. Just really hope the weather is good, but damn it, I’m going to do this ride!

The basic details haven’t changed much since October when I originally scheduled this ride. But here ya go:

  • This ride will happen on Sunday, February 26 at 8:30 am. The sort of meet up spot is the Hatfield Government Center MAX station in Hillsboro, which is the west end of the Blue Line. We won’t actually “meet” there though.
  • We’ll actually meet at 8:30 am at Diversity Cafe, 230 E Main St in Hillsboro. This is about two blocks east of the Hatfield TC MAX station on the Blue Line (the end of the line.) Yep, we’ll have a nice sit down breakfast before a big ride! You can check out their very breakfasty menu via the web, but BE WARNED, IT’S ONE OF THOSE WEBSITES THAT STARTS PLAYING MUSIC, ETC WHEN YOU OPEN IT! Looks like they stopped the music thing, whew.
  • If’n you aren’t into a full breakfast, just meet us at the cafe by 9:30 am. (There is another coffee option nearer the station if you just want something quick, but I ain’t naming names. Hint: There’s a mermaid on the cup.) Please note that we won’t be going by the MAX station after breakfast, so meet us at Diversity Cafe.
  • The ride is about 50 miles round-trip, and you can check that out here. We can shave off about 10 miles by cutting out the gravel loop around Gaston. I’d prefer to keep that loop, but if we’re too beat or the weather starts to suck, it’s an option. The biggest difference between this ride and the one in 2014 is there will only be one crossing of the Chehalem Range, not two. Also, we’ll be hitting up Forest Grove and straight-shotting along Baseline back to Hillsboro. Yeah, it’s not ideal, but it allows a dinner stop in FG (see below) and really, most of the riding right outside of Forest Grove on the south side is sub-par, so it’s six of one, half-dozen the other…
  • This route also has a bit more Bald Peak Road than before. It’s paved, but there is some traffic. We’ll descend via Laurelwood Rd through the community of the same name. I’ve always wanted to check out this town!
  • As for breaks and food, Bald Peak is at about mile 19. I plan on taking a good break here and making coffee. While there’s an outhouse, there is no water here, so make sure you have enough for the ride, esp. if you want to make coffee here. At about mile 27 is Gaston, which has a store and probably a pub/restaurant. We’ll pass through Forest Grove on the way back, so we can stop by the Grand Lodge for dinner and drinks.
  • While this ride does not stray that far from the fringe of the metro area, it has a surprising lack of services. After leaving Hillsboro, the next food/water will be Gaston at mile 27 and then there may be a country store or so before Forest Grove. So be prepared!
  • I’d say about 25% of this ride is gravel. I think the ascent to Bald Peak is a good deal of gravel, and the Gaston Loop is I think mostly gravel. Note I said “I think” as the maps don’t tell me. But most of the climbs over the Chehalem Range are gravel, so it’s a good guess. I’d say you should be good if you have tires north of 32 mm in width. Nothing super-technical, so you don’t need to ride your full-sus MTB unless you want to!
  • And as indicated in the last bullet point, I have only ridden some sections of this ride, not all. So expect a degree of mystery!

If you are intending on going, please give me a heads up! urbanadventureleague@gmail.com

Coffee Outside, Fremont Bridge, Fri 10 Feb 2017

You may have remembered during my participation during the Coffeeneuring Challenge last fall that I hit up a new regularly occurring weekly coffee outside meetup, cleverly called PDX Coffee Outside. (Go here and here for reports.) Last time I participated was right before Election Day, and PDX Coffee Outside went on hiatus for a couple months. They started back up towards the end of January, and finally I managed to crawl out of bed on Friday at the god-awful hour of six am* to participate!

The morning was cloudy and cool but not cold, mid 40’s. There was the threat of showers, so the coffee outside folks chose the spot on the westside waterfront path under the Fremont Bridge as the meetup. When I arrived at seven, there were three other dudes, including Paul who is in town from the Twin Cities to go to UBI for a course. And since he didn’t have a way to make coffee, he wisely brought donuts!

Over the forty-five minutes I was there, Paul left and a few other people showed up. We moved from beside the bridge to under the bridge when the threatened shower did come through, though because the Fremont Bridge is so high, it didn’t provide much cover. Oh well. It was still fun!

And yeah, it is nice to get up early once in awhile. The ride down to the Fremont took about a half hour and was pleasant, despite the fierce headwind,** and the half hour ride from there to work was also nice. Since my regular bike route doesn’t go to downtown or traverse the regular bikeways, I see few other cyclists on a usual morning ride. But this morning, there were cyclists everywhere! And of course, it’s nice to hang out with other folks over coffee.

I hope to do more Friday Coffee Outsides from now on. And my Friday morning work schedule is shifting a bit, so it will be easier to do so. Now if spring would just get here. 😉

*No, I am not a morning person. And it took all my willpower to not hit snooze again and again and again until 6:45.

**This is why I brought the Trangia 27 Stormcooker stove set today!