Letter Writing Month is Back!

img_20170202_190142_755.jpgHello friends! In the past, I was a pretty active participant in Letter Writing Month. What’s that? It’s simple. Here are the “official rules” from the website:

  1. In the month of February, mail at least one item through the post every day it runs (which in the US is every day except Sundays and Washington’s Birthday on Monday February 20th- my notes.) Write a postcard, a letter, send a picture, or a cutting from a newspaper, or a fabric swatch.
  2. Write back to everyone who writes to you. This can count as one of your mailed items.

I started doing Letter Writing Month in 2012, and kept it up for every year except 2016. (You can read all the reports here.) And I want to do it again this year! Do you want to get a postcard or letter from me? (More than likely it will be a postcard.) It is simple: write me and I’ll write you back. (And it pains me to say this but: You will need to provide a return address so I can mail you back! ) There’s no need to ask me if it’s “OK to write”, just do it! I will also automatically write the first three people who contact me with their mailing address, either via a comment (I will not publish your address) or emailing me at urbanadventureleague@gmail.com Of course, this is not a one way street, so if I do write you, please write me back!

And where can you send that mail?

SHAWN GRANTON

P O BOX 14185

PORTLAND OR 97293-0815

Okay, one last comment from the official website:

“When I write back, I find that I slow down and write differently than I do with an email. Email is all about the now. Letters are different, because whatever I write needs to be something that will be relevant a week later to the person to whom I am writing. In some ways it forces me to think about time more because postal mail is slower. β€œBy the time you get this…” It is relaxing. It is intimate. It is both lasting and ephemeral.”

Okay, get out your pens and typewriters, and start writing!

 

