A foggy slough and Couve ramble, Wed 28 Dec 2016

Wednesday was a day off, and the weather was supposed to be okay. So a perfect opportunity for a little bike ride! As I stated previously, the Columbia Slough is “my jam” so I decided to aim that way, since I didn’t want anything too ambitious.

The big problem though was a persistent fog that clung to the lowlands. While the fog was clearing around my house when I left after 1 pm, it wasn’t going anywhere by the river. As I got deeper into it, feeling that chill that only fog plus just above freezing temps can give. (Oddly enough, I felt a headwind when I traveled west.) Originally I had a vague notion of heading up towards Kelley Point, but that changed. How about Hayden Island instead?

Hayden Island is an island that sits in the middle of the Columbia River. Well, “middle” isn’t exactly correct, as it’s closer to the Oregon side. As such, most of Hayden Island is a Portland neighborhood, generally known as Jantzen Beach because of the former amusement park/current mall that takes up a good chunk of the island.* I wanted to check and see if Ricky Point, one of my favorite sunrise/set/moonrise spots is still locked off. ** (Unfortunately, it still is.) Even worse, now the wild side of Hayden Island, the part just west of the railroad tracks where we brought Grant Petersen out that one time is also completely fenced off and inaccessible. Sigh.

With an air of resignation I took a coffee outside break at tiny Lotus Isle Park. The fog made everything look eerie, which was cool. But I sort of questioned my own judgement of standing still for so long to make coffee in these conditions. It’s probably because I dragged the kit along, so I felt like I should use it. (And if I somehow didn’t bring the kit along, I would have regretted it. Damned if you do…)

At this point I could head back south and do some more rambling, but since I was practically to Vancouver, Washington I might as well take advantage of it. I rode over the Interstate Bridge and was quickly in downtown The Couve.

While Vancouver is still a bit sleepy and doesn’t feature the explosion of construction that Portland does, every time I visit I see changes. Seems like there’s a new brew pub or cafe, or a restaurant or store. And there’s a lot of murals! For the longest time it didn’t seem like anything was going down downtown, but now there’s even things for a Portland snob like me. I tried out a couple brew pubs, and also visited Niche, the wine bar that my friend Leah owns. (And of course Todd would be there too, so he can finally see what I did to the Superbe since I bought it from him so long ago!)

Then it was dark and late. I headed south, home. I’ll be in Vancouver again, hopefully soon…

*It’s a popular shopping spot for Washingtonians since it’s right across the river from Vancouver, and Oregon has no sales tax.

**Technically Ricky Point is on Tomahawk Island. It was once separated from Hayden Island, but is now connected, so there’s not much of a distinction anymore.

I love to hear from you!

