Heading east on (a different) iron horse

Right now I’m on Amtrak’s Empire Builder, hurtling through the High Desert Darkness east of Pasco, WA. Spokane is the next stop, where the two sections of the train meet. It’s been interesting, this whole sleeper car business. For one, I got to use the Metropolitan Lounge, the pre-boarding area at Portland Union Station. It’s one of the few first class lounges in the entire Amtrak system, and it’s in my home town.  I’ve known about it for years, but this is the first time I’ve ever been able to use it! Free coffee and priority boarding! Of course, I was maybe 30 years younger than most folks there, but whatever.

And on board I get free coffee and bottled water! Free meals! A shower! And a little compartment just for me, and of course moosemoose. I think I may get spoiled.

It was good and sunny, so a good view as I went through the Columbia River Gorge. Tomorrow it’s supposed to rain as we cross the Rockies at Glacier National Park, so I’ll miss that. But I should be getting the best night’s sleep I’ll ever get on a train!

3 thoughts on “Heading east on (a different) iron horse

  1. Enjoy! It alweays fun to make up back storys for the other passingers too.
    clickity-clack, clickity- Clack, same old track, same old track.

  2. Oh man! I took a sleeper car once from Sac back up to Portland since it was the last available ticket, and it was sooooo nice to be able to lie down and sleep. If I could afford that shit I would do it all the time! 😉

    Happy travels!

  3. Very Cool, ever since I read about the Lake Pepin 3 speed ride about 5 years ago I thought it would be a cool thing to do. Good on ya. I guess I would first need to actually get a 3 speed ;-). My current bike project – Motobecane Grand Touing- has me aimed at L’Erocia California some day.

    Look forward to your reports.

I love to hear from you!

