A blah weekend

If you have been around here long enough, you know it is rare for me to get a full real weekend off, meaning both Saturday and Sunday. But this past weekend has been one of them, to be followed by something even rarer, a Monday through Friday work week! When was the last time I had that, 1999? So what did I do with this weekend off?

Pretty much nothing.

Now, I have an excuse: I got a cold on Friday. It’s no “death cold” but I’ve felt blah all weekend, and figured it would be the best thing to do was lay low. But it’s not like I didn’t have things planned for this weekend, one of which was go on a long bike ride. (The other of which was social activities.)

But that cold was bit of a “blessing in disguise”, as it rained pretty good all weekend, including Saturday when I would have attempted the Verboort 100k populaire, a randonneuring event. Here’s a report from my friend Steve, who did go:

I had a successful ride, but truthfully, you picked a good one to stay home for. It began raining literally the minute the ride began, and within 15 minutes it was a deluge. Completely drenched and remained this way for the rest of the ride. The rain let off a little during the middle, but by that point it didn’t matter. By the finish, it was pouring  again.

I was able to stay just warm enough, I never was really freezing, but I only made one stop the entire time because I knew that if I got off the bike and stopped moving, I would be freezing in no time. The  stop was for lunch at Black Bear Cafe in Vernonia, ate with some cool first time randonneurs from Portland in the bar room, which thankfully had the wood stove roaring. I stayed there for quite a while, it was hard to leave.

Rode back into Verboort at a brisk pace to fend off the chill. Turned in my card and immediately headed off for the Grand Lodge and the comfort of the heated automobile. As soon as I stopped moving, a deep, bone shaking chill set in that I could not fend off the entire drive home, even with the heat on full blast. I was spent. Last night I laid around the house in a state of chilled exhausted lethargy. To be honest, I still feel pretty whipped today, worse than I have felt after some 200k’s. I think it was the combination of being wet all day and the more strenuous pace I was riding due to the cold. Also I haven’t really done any long rides for a few weeks.

So I dodged a bullet. Now I know it can be wet in November, but there’s a difference between drizzly/occasional showers, and full out downpour, which it did yesterday. Almost a 1/2 inch of rain fell!

I felt somewhat better on Sunday, and could have pushed myself to be social, but I decided against in. But I needed to get out of the house for at least a little while, so I decided to go on a short ride of the neighborhood on the Schwinn Heavy Duti. I managed to get about a fifteen minute ride in, before the rain came back, and it came back in force.

Besides about five minutes of test riding a couple weeks ago, this was the first time I had ridden the bike with the Bullmoose bars. I like ’em! I tested the Minnehaha  barrel bag on the bars, and it looks good, but don’t know if I’ll be keeping it there. The Brooks B66 saddle is fun, but the big-arsed “cruiser” saddle will be back on there. There’s a few other things I’d like to do with the bike, like put the basket back on (or something different) and figure out a way to get a front brake on. But these things aren’t high priority.

Here’s hoping for better days.

5 thoughts on “A blah weekend

  1. I know how it feels to be unwell, or just not up for riding, when you had plans for a nice, long ride. It happens. And it will probably happen again. Take care of yourself and ride again when you’re ready.

  2. I was trying to think of a way to add a front caliper to that beast but the fork crown looks too thin and probably very hard to drill it for a side pull caliper.
    What would be really neat would be to find a front wheel with a drum brake hub!

    • We’re thinking brazing bosses onto the fork for V-Brakes. Yeah, a drum brake would also do the trick, but it’s hard finding pre-made wheels in 26″, unless you want to go with Worksman, and those wheels are very heavy!

      • Heeheee I don’t think weight is a problem….what’s another couple of pounds on a heavy duti….I think it is just perfect the way it is.

        • There’s a couple o’ pounds, and then there’s Worksman! 😉 Seriously, they build their stuff outta iron, not steel. Anyways, getting a drum wheel from them would be about $150, which is a bit out of my range for now. Brazing studs plus V-Brake would be much lower in cost. We’ll see, we’ll see…

I love to hear from you!

