A belated 10th b-day for this blog!

A just-about-30 me at the Kickoff Parade for Pedalpalooza, June 2005. This would be right around the time this blog started. (God I look so young!) Photo by Jonathan Maus/Bikeportland.org

A just-about-30 me at the Kickoff Parade for Pedalpalooza, June 2005. This would be right around the time this blog started. (God I look so young!) Photo by Jonathan Maus/Bikeportland.org

Hello friends! I am not one for anniversaries, but 2015 is special. Not only did I become officially old, but I’ve been doing this blog for ten years! Woot! While I started Urban Adventure League in June of 2004, I didn’t start blogging until a year later in June of 2005. (I know millennials, that just sounds weird: There was a time where you did stuff first, and then put it on the internet way later.) If you want to check out what the Urban Adventure League of 2005 looked like, check out the first post appropriately titled Welcome!

Ten years, some things change, some stay the same. Later in the summer of 2005 I did my first ever bike tour and since then have done scads more. I still lead bicycle rides, though maybe not as many. But the biggest change has been bikes: back then I was far from a bike nerd, riding a pretty crappy early-mid nineties Giant Rincon to death. To think that was my primary bike for FIVE YEARS is weird now, but I was broke and didn’t know any better. (Part of me almost wishes I could go back to that…naivety, though after a custom frame there’s no turning back.)

Blogging has been fun, but it can be weird. I’ve never become a “big time blogger” but I have gotten some “interesting” things from time to time. And probably the most interesting thing came in the post for meΒ on Friday:wpid-wp-1440818487220.jpg

6 thoughts on “A belated 10th b-day for this blog!

  1. I looked at that first picture and was thinking, “Wow, you don’t look anything like you look today”. Then I realized you’re not the dude in the foreground, you’re standing in the back.

    I think I first found your blog about 5 years ago. I recall yours was the first “Portland” blog I read. I learned quite a bit about Portland from your blog. I really didn’t know much about it before that. It lead to me branching out and learning more about Portland and it’s bicycle community.
    Over the past few years I read fewer and fewer blogs. However, UAL remains one of the “core” 10 I still check in with on a regular basis.

  2. Congrats on your anniversary, and officially reaching old guy status. It’s amazing how much can happen in 10 years. The big question I have is how exactly did you end up on a Clif bar wrapper? Will I meet the gaze of your smiling mug the next time I’m in my local energy bar isle?

I love to hear from you!

