Pepin Bound

16810919094_a09a12e3f7_kToday, Saturday May 9th, I’ll be boarding Amtrak’s Empire Builder at 4:45 pm to head eastward to Minneapolis. Yes, this will be after leading a bike ride. Yes, I am crazy. I’ll get to the Twin Cities on Monday morning, then spend a few days there before I head down to Red Wing to participate in the Lake Pepin Three Speed Tour. Then after that, Pondero, Gravel Doc and myself will do a three-day, three-speed camping tour in the Driftless Region of SW Wisconsin just outside of La Crosse.

All in all, I’ll be away for two weeks. Two weeks! This will be the longest I’ve been away from Portland since the Cross-Continent Tour in 2011. It will be a nice break, for sure.

Anyways, I haven’t been as stressed as I normally am before a big trip. Yes, there’s the usual last-minute getting everything wrapped up and put together, and despite how much I trim, it always feels like I’m bringing more than I should. (It doesn’t help when I need to plan about two days worth of food for the train, lest I have to deal with the overpriced and mediocre fare in the cafe car.) But this is the first time in a long time where I don’t feel like I have to figure out a whole bunch of new things before I leave. Right now, I just have the anticipation of this new adventure.

I’m going to try to blog as much as I can from the road, but it probably won’t be as much as I’d like to. See you down the road!

5 thoughts on “Pepin Bound

  1. Man that is one creepy photo.

    Good call on stocking up for food for the train; that has been my routine as well. Though I always end up buying plenty from the cafe car as well: the Coast Starlight had Anchor Steam and Sierra Nevada Pale Ale 🙂

    Have a good time in MN, I know I enjoyed my time there (well except for that one campground with the crazy mosquitos).

  2. Do you have any tricks for doing these multi-day train rides? I love Amtrak, but the longest trip I’ve ever done was a bit under 20 hours, and I was feeling very cooped up and in desperate need of a shower by the end of that one. But I’ve always heard that the Empire Builder is a beautiful ride and if I could convince myself that I wouldn’t lose my mind I’d love to try it someday.

I love to hear from you!

