2014 Year In Review

Yeah, 2014 ended two weeks ago, but I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had time to write about it until now. That’s a good thing, right? ūüėČ

Anyways, I’ve already did a review about my camping/touring year, so this post will be more of a “life in general” review. I can’t say that 2014 was a particularly great year. I didn’t feel like I accomplished anything near to what I hoped. I felt the stagnation from the past few years had still lingered. And I feel that I’m still getting over the breakup. On the other hand, 2014 didn’t have the same kind of ultimate bummer moment that 2013 had, a more even year overall.

Anyways, I don’t want to dwell on the bad. But sometimes it’s hard to wrap my head around superlatives. I’m the worst at “top ten” lists and “favorite” types of things. For example, on New Year’s Eve, someone asked me what my 2014 highlight was, and my mind blanked. But two weeks in, I finally figured out a highlights list:

  • Warmshowers: After using this bicycle touring hospitality exchange for four years, this was the first year I had the opportunity to actually host folks. The Holland House had two Warmshowers guests this summer (plus Robert/Spiral Cage, who doesn’t do WS). It was fun to finally host a bike tourist! I hope to have a few more guests this year.
  • Bay Area Trip: After a five year hiatus, I got to go down to the Bay Area in January as a fully-paid work trip, no less! I got to finally meet Manny and go on one of his crazy rides (pro tip: bring spare brake pads.) It was nice to be back in my first “living here by choice” town¬†as an adult, even though¬†the trip¬†was barely three days. I need to get back there soon.
  • Society of Three Speeds hit 100 members! Here’s to 1oo more. (Maybe you are the next one?)
  • I bike camped/toured nine of the twelve months in 2014. Despite not accomplishing as much as I would have liked to, this was the “fullest” calendar year when it comes to months camped. I really hope I can repeat this in 2015, or get even more months in!
  • San Juans/Puget Sound Tour. Despite having having only three sub-week tours in this year, I did get some good riding in. This tour was the highlight of the three tours I did. Beautiful weather, beautiful scenery, lots of good riding, and no mechanical issues! This is the second year in a row that I’ve done a tour around this area, and I hope to keep up this annual tradition as long as I’m living in the Northwest.
  • Lake Pepin Three Speed Tour. By far, the highlight of 2014. It was more fun than anticipated! I got to meet some great folks, look at great bikes, and ride in great scenery. It’s so great I’m going again in 2015!

Okay, next time I’ll be talking about hopes for 2015. I have a feeling that it’s going to be a good year.

Self-portrait at Ricky Point.

Self-portrait at Ricky Point.

I love to hear from you!

