More stuff with the Heavy Duti.

Ah yes, the Heavy Duti! I haven’t really talked about the Schwinn Heavy Duti here  since I purchased it in the beginning of October. That’s because it languished in the basement for most of October as I was focused on other things. But over the past couple weeks, I’ve had a number of things done to it, to make it more “mine”.

  • Handlebars, etc: Found some used Wald steel bars that were a bit wider (28 inches) than the extant ones. I took the old grips off and added those black semi-cork grips. And of course a classic Chinese rotating bell!
  • Basket: If my Wald Giant Delivery Basket is appropriate for any bike, it would be for a classic balloon-tire cruiser. So on it went!
  • Tires: Speaking of balloon tire, while the extant tires were fine, I knew that I wanted to change it up. I was on the lookout for some whitewalls, but managed to score a set of Schwalbe Fat Franks for a really low price! At 60mm (2.35″) wide, they are definitely fat tires!
  • Drivetrain: The bike came with an 18 tooth rear cog, but I wanted lower gearing, so I had it swapped with a 22 tooth cog I happened to have. A new chain went on as well.
  • Saddle: That old saddle was beat, so I threw on my old Brooks B-66 saddle instead.

And that’s about it! I don’t want this bike to become too much of a project. I don’t want to get all crazy with it. So I don’t want to go down the road of new wheels or multiple speeds and all that. Though there’s a couple things I still want to do. I want to rebuild the pedals with new blocks, and get a longer seatpost, as I’m maxing out the extant one and feel like I can use a little more height.

Since getting the bike fixed up, I’ve ridden it around a bunch in the last week, and have loved it. Honestly, I didn’t think I’d like the bike this much, since the whole idea of the Heavy Duti was to have a “clunker”. But I’ve commuted to work a few times, and found it to not be as slow as I thought, though by no means is this a “fast” bike. Lowering the gearing definitely helped. With the 48/22 configuration, I have a gear inch of 57 inches, great for around town and not bad up hills. And I’ve definitely climbed a few hills with this thing! The generous width of the handlebars helps when I do have to get out of the saddle on a climb.

And there’s something beautiful about the simplicity of it all. I like the fact that I have a single-speed bike again, though this is way different than my last single-speed, the Centurion Le Mans 70’s road bike. There’s no cable clutter since the only brake is the coaster brake. I know, I know, coaster brakes aren’t the greatest, and there’s no redundant braking if I somehow snap the chain or the brake strap holding the reaction arm in place. (And yes, that’s already happened since the old strap was way rusted.) It takes a little while to get used to braking by backpedalling. But it doesn’t take long, as that’s what I grew up using!

It’s already proved its ability to haul stuff. This past week I did a pretty good store run at Fred Meyer, and then dropped off a lot of donations at the Community Cycling Center. And I’m sure I’ll find more use for it in the coming months…

One thought on “More stuff with the Heavy Duti.

  1. Great bike. From Worksman LGB to Schwinn Heavy Duti? I guess you dropped 15lbs going to the Schwinn and it will be easier to pedal but can it really haul a load? Only time will tell. Love your Coffeeneuring adventures. I’ve put an AW on my Worksman LGB so technically I could ride your 3 speed rides but shipping that beast to Portland to join you in a ride would cost a pretty penny. If I ever get up your way with an IGH bicycle I’ll look you up.

I love to hear from you!

