A weekend out at the coast.

I just got back from a weekend out at the coast, featuring two of my favorite close-ish coastal places: Astoria, the northernmost city on the Oregon coast, and Cape Disappointment, the southermost point on the Washington coast. It was a work retreat (yes, the location was my idea) so we actually drove to and from here, rather than biking and/or busing there. It’s a bit weird to drive out here, but interesting since we took US 30 back and forth. I’ve never ridden the full length of 30 from Portland to Astoria, and for good reason: it’s busy, has a few good climbs, and is lacking in shoulders at spots.

Anyways, it was a good weekend. The weather was really nice on Saturday, though Sunday was wet. The big difference besides driving is since I was with four other people, I didn’t do my own thing. This meant that I didn’t have that much time to just bum around Astoria or along the beach. But any time at the coast is better than none!

I love to hear from you!

