You’re almost at the top! You can do it!

No, I promise that this blog is not going to become some type of Successories product. But sometimes I take notice of inspirational signs. Especially when they are on bike routes.

Thursday morning I was running late to work, and in my flustered state I took a turn earlier than I should of. This was a blessing in disguise, as I noticed a home-made sign tacked to the telephone pole on SE Salmon at SE 26th:

SE Salmon is a popular bike route, and yep, this is near the top of a hill.

I love these type of signs. Regular bike signs are great, but they are dry: they provide information, but no encouragement. You may know where you’re going, but do you know that you are almost to the top of the hill? Do you need a little mental boost? The standard white-and-green “Bike Route” ain’t going to do that. This sign, however, will.

This reminds me of another “sign” found on a rock at the base of the Loup Loup Pass summit sign in central Washington, which we crested on the Big Bike Tour back in 2011.

5847624962_5930dd7199_b

2 thoughts on “You’re almost at the top! You can do it!

  1. D.C. is generally too flat for these types of signs but did you here about our bike lane graffiti artist? They put encouraging stenciled messages along some of the designated bike routes in town, as well as hearts over a few sharrows.

I love to hear from you!

