Puget Sound and Islands mini-tour

Hello friends. Last post I was (be)moaning about the lack of bicycle camping/touring adventures I’ve had this year. Well, today I actually depart for one of my mini-tours!

This evening I’ll be taking the Amtrak Cascades train up to Seattle, where I will spend the night. The next morning (Thursday August 7th), I’ll take the ferry over to Bainbridge Island, then ride north through the Kitsap Peninsula to Port Townsend on the Quimper Peninsula (and the furthest north-east part of the Olympic Peninsula), where I’ll spend the night.

Then on Friday morning (August 8th), another ferry will get me to Whidbey Island, and I’ll ride north through the island then across Deception Pass to Anacortes where I’ll camp for the night. On Saturday morning, another ferry (are you seeing a theme here?) will bring me to Lopez Island in the San Juan Archipelago, where I’ll spend the night. You may remember during my San Juans Tour last September I didn’t get to spend as much time on Lopez as I wanted as I was running from the coming storms. So now I will get to spend time here!

On Sunday morning, the final ferry ride back to the “mainland”, Anacortes* then ride through the lowlands towards Seattle. I’ll probably hop on transit around Everett which will bring me back to Seattle, where I’ll spend the night. Then on Monday morning (August 11th), I’ll take the train home.

This should be a fun trip. I love the Puget Sound area, and the weather promises to be good, with no rain in the forecast. And the sea water will moderate the temperature, quite the relief after all the hot weather we’ve been having in Portland.

I’ll try to send a few posts from the road. Check out my flickr account, as I hope to upload some photos there too.

*Yes, I realize that Anacortes is on Fidalgo Island, which is technically not the mainland. But it is connected to it by a bridge.

I love to hear from you!

