Wait…that ain’t your Raleigh Wayfarer.

image

https://flic.kr/p/npbXab
I previously mentioned “shifting issues” with the Raleigh Wayfarer. Long story short: the cable kept on slackening because the pulley was moving. Then I would tighten cable, process would repeat itself, and eventually cause wheel to shift. And then the axle threading stripped, meaning I couldn’t tighten the bolts. Not good.

The places in Minneapolis that would be able to replace the axle on a Sturmey-Archer AW hub wouldn’t be able to do it before I left town. Hanging my head in shame, I needed to borrow a bike for a few days.

Thankfully my host Jon has lots of bikes. And…what’s this? He has a 1992 Bridgestone XO-3, 57 cm? The same year and size as my XO-3? Yes! Of course it’s a different color and set up a bit differently than mine. But it still feels almost like I’m riding my own bike.

So I’ll explore the Twin Cities on the XO-3 and get the Raleigh repaired when I get home.

I love to hear from you!

