Post-Pepin update.

It’s a rather crappy day day here in Minneapolis, a day consisting of a steady wave of downpours and thunderstorms. So a good time for quick reflection. A longer post will happen when I return home, but lack of desire to be on the internet on my “vacation” will cause that to be delayed. (Not to mention that typing on a smartphone isn’t the most fun.)

The train trip out was decent, and I arrived at Saint Paul Union Station around 9 am Friday. A bus ride to outside Red Wing, then a quick ride into town. The Raleigh Wayfarer handled admirably, and I even managed a short gravel detour.

Friday night was spent hanging out in Red Wing. Some of the Pepin riders were already there, so we hung out at some local watering holes.

Saturday: the main event! 100 people assembled by the waterfront for the Lake Pepin Three Speed Tour. The weather couldn’t be better, sun and clouds both days, high 60-70F, no rain. With much pomp and circumstance, the mass departed. We wound our way down Hwy 35 on the Wisconsin side, stopping at every scenic overlook (and there were many) and cafe along the way, taking our sweet time.

After overnighting in Wabasha, Minnesota, we continued up the Minnesota side of the Mississippi on Sunday. I managed to find the folks most willing to get off busy US 61 and onto the quieter sideroads, which either meant climbs up the buttes and/or gravel roads. All worth it! Sunday also meant the Lake City brew-up where folks could strut their stuff in the tea preparation department.

After about 90 miles over two days, the ride was over, and we were back in Red Wing. I got some beer and pizza at Red Wing Brewery and hitched a ride to Minneapolis.

All in all, a great time! My only issue was my three speed hub coming out of adjustment due to cable issues, which I fixed today. Would I come to Lake Pepin again? HELL YES!

When I return to Portland, I’ll upload the bulk of my pics from the trip. In the meantime I do have some up on Flickr, make sure you check them out!

2 thoughts on “Post-Pepin update.

  1. If it weren’t for this thing called work and making a livin’ I would make my way down Duluth to MPLS to hang out.

I love to hear from you!

