Seattle trip update.

image

It’s Wednesday night as my thumb hits a pretend keyboard on a smartphone. Just finished up two eventful and fun days in Seattle. The weather has been ok, mostly cloudy with some drizzle, high around 45F.

Tuesday I hooked up with Robert/Spiral Cage and we had a fun ramble round the reaches of the city, interspersed with breaks for coffee, food, and beer. The ramble got out to Alki Beach, Fauntleroy Ferry Terminal, West Seattle, and Georgetown. From there we hustled up to Fremont, where Robert and I parted ways. Then I met my old comics friend David Lasky in Greenwood where we had pizza and went to a low key comics/zine people party, which is how I rung in 2014. Then a ride through throngs of drunks back south to the hostel in the International District. I managed to clock in an impressive 50 miles of riding.
image

This morning, due to both the extensive riding yesterday, coupled with the extensive drinking, I was a bit slow going at first. That didn’t stop me from getting out and riding! I rode along the waterfront all the way up to West Point Lighthouse in Discovery Park, then over to Ballard Locks where I enjoyed a little “coffee outside” action. Then onto the beach at Golden Gardens Park where folks were burning Christmas trees and plunging into the frigid waters of Puget Sound. I then routed my way back to the hostel using a route around Lake Union. 30 miles without even thinking about it!
image

Tomorrow is my last day in town.  I hope to get in a little more riding before I hop on Amtrak back to Portland.

2 thoughts on “Seattle trip update.

  1. Hey Shawn, it was good to meet you IRL and get in some riding. You definitely put in some miles for the dead of winter. Nice that you made it out to West Point and Discovery Park. Did you manage to get in that last ride before heading home?

    • Nice hanging with you too! Yep, got in a smaller ride on my last day too. Still need to write that report. My to-do list right now is longer than my time available to do all I want!

I love to hear from you!

